Rel McCoy releases “A Different Crown” album | @relmccoy |

In this life, many of us live for the pursuit of recognition in its many forms. Medals. Cups. Trophies. We often feel that they are the only form of validation for our work and passion. But what about the accolades that defy temporary law and last forever?

For his debut album on Illect Recordings, Rel McCoy makes his seemingly impossible mission clear by fixing his gaze on “a different crown”. Entirely produced by the man himself, this body of work is intensely personal as Rel takes the listener on a ride through the theme park of his mind. The exhilarating poetry will thrust you skyward into the human experience. Various levels of retrospection are laid bare here including love, fear, trust, joy, pain, triumph and everything that comes in between but sometimes get overlooked. The most beautiful streak throughout the album’s seventeen tracks is Rel’s willingness to ask the questions to which there are likely to be tough answers. His humble inquisitiveness is awe-inspiring. Plus his bars are nice. As in N-I-C-E.

The crown doesn’t move, but this music will move you.

A Different Crown is out today on Illect Recordings.

Stream / Download at all digital outlets:
Apple Music:
Google Play:

Track List
1. Named In A Dream
2. On Anotha
3. Trust Issues (feat. Theology 3 & DJ Versatile)
4. The Moment (feat. Grimace Love)
5. That Guy
6. Sun Shine
7. Feels Like Limbo
8. Icarus
9. This Guy
10. Part Of The Plan (feat. RationaL)
11. So Far Removed
12. Peace (feat. Eternia)
13. Screen Love
14. Getting By (feat. Moka Only)
15. Hallelujah (feat. DIE-REK)
16. What’s It All For
17. Call Of The Times

Connect with Rel McCoy

Connect with Illect Recordings


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.